Warning: file_put_contents(/homepages/27/d684884309/htdocs/app684884337//ads.txt): failed to open stream: Permission denied in /homepages/27/d684884309/htdocs/app684884337/wp-content/plugins/affilinet-performance-module/classes/Plugin.php on line 288

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /homepages/27/d684884309/htdocs/app684884337/wp-content/plugins/affilinet-performance-module/classes/Plugin.php:288) in /homepages/27/d684884309/htdocs/app684884337/wp-includes/feed-rss2.php on line 8
ForsythGemClub.com https://forsythgemclub.com Forsyth Gem & Mineral Club - WE LIKE ROCKS! Fri, 09 Mar 2018 02:28:21 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://wordpress.org/?v=4.9.4 Dick Hartz https://forsythgemclub.com/dick-hartz https://forsythgemclub.com/dick-hartz#respond Sat, 17 Feb 2018 15:23:30 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=123 It is with great sadness that we report the passing of Dick Hartz.

Dick has been a long-time member and fixture of the club.  He served as treasurer for many years.  He was always active at the club show and could often be found on field trips.

Dick at the 2015 show
Dick at work at the 2015 show – courtesy Alex McGilvary

He will be greatly missed by all.


https://forsythgemclub.com/dick-hartz/feed 0
February Newsletter is Available https://forsythgemclub.com/february-newsletter-is-available https://forsythgemclub.com/february-newsletter-is-available#respond Fri, 09 Feb 2018 00:11:26 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=120 The public version of the newsletter is available on the Newsletter page.

Meeting will be on Thursday, Feb 15, at 7:30 PM.


https://forsythgemclub.com/february-newsletter-is-available/feed 0
January Meeting – Cancelled https://forsythgemclub.com/january-meeting-cancelled https://forsythgemclub.com/january-meeting-cancelled#respond Thu, 18 Jan 2018 00:01:44 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=115 Continue reading "January Meeting – Cancelled"

Due to the weather conditions (6-7 inch snow, or more) and likely not a lot of clearing on Thursday, the January 2018 meeting is cancelled.  We’ll try to pick things back up again next month.

(And, no, this does not mean an extension for paying dues – if you can’t make the February meeting you can still mail it in.)


https://forsythgemclub.com/january-meeting-cancelled/feed 0
January Newsletter is up https://forsythgemclub.com/january-newsletter-is-up https://forsythgemclub.com/january-newsletter-is-up#respond Fri, 12 Jan 2018 01:49:09 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=113 Continue reading "January Newsletter is up"

The January 2018 newsletter has been posted on the newsletter page.

The meeting will be Thursday, Jan 18, at 7:30 PM.

The January presentation will be given by Phil Bradley of the NC geological Survey. Phil has spoken tour club before, and was warmly received. His topic will be, “The Geology of Haw River” (the HAW River is a 110 mile long tributary of the Cape Fear River in Central North Carolina).

https://forsythgemclub.com/january-newsletter-is-up/feed 0
Forsyth County Corundum https://forsythgemclub.com/forsyth-county-corundum https://forsythgemclub.com/forsyth-county-corundum#respond Fri, 12 Jan 2018 00:31:19 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=108 Continue reading "Forsyth County Corundum"

Ron Carswell recently sent in an email with a article about Forsyth County Corundum.  From his email:

Thought I would share a little information about local Forsyth County geology that I have been investigating for many years as an archaeology enthusiast. Many prehistoric rock quarries existed in the now Forsyth County and Yadkin County areas that I have studied. The quarry efforts by early Prehistoric people impacted these geological environments extensively but clues have been left that identify  the geological events that supplied rock materials used for stone tools and components. Hope you can identify this as a positive scientific effort in a geo archaeological nature. I have max amounts of data and artifacts on this subject.


Ron Carswell


For the article itself:  Forsyth County Corundum


https://forsythgemclub.com/forsyth-county-corundum/feed 0
December Newsletter https://forsythgemclub.com/december-newsletter https://forsythgemclub.com/december-newsletter#respond Mon, 01 Jan 2018 14:53:44 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=105 Ooops – looks like I neglected to get around to uploading the December newsletter.  It’s up now. 

Look for the January issue around Jan 12th or so.


https://forsythgemclub.com/december-newsletter/feed 0
November Newsletter https://forsythgemclub.com/november-newsletter https://forsythgemclub.com/november-newsletter#respond Fri, 10 Nov 2017 02:39:05 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=99 The November 2017 newsletter has been posted on the newsletter page.   The meeting is Thursday, Nov 16.


https://forsythgemclub.com/november-newsletter/feed 0
October Newsletter https://forsythgemclub.com/october-newsletter https://forsythgemclub.com/october-newsletter#respond Fri, 13 Oct 2017 23:44:45 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=90 The October newsletter is up.  Meeting is Thursday, Oct 19.

https://forsythgemclub.com/october-newsletter/feed 0
September Newsletter https://forsythgemclub.com/september-newsletter https://forsythgemclub.com/september-newsletter#respond Fri, 01 Sep 2017 00:08:32 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=84 The September newsletter is now available on the newsletters page.

https://forsythgemclub.com/september-newsletter/feed 0
No September Program Meeting https://forsythgemclub.com/no-september-program-meeting https://forsythgemclub.com/no-september-program-meeting#respond Fri, 01 Sep 2017 00:08:05 +0000 https://forsythgemclub.com/?p=82 There will be no program meeting for September.  Instead the club will present the annual Gem, Mineral, Fossil, Jewelry, and Bead Show.

See the show page for more information.


https://forsythgemclub.com/no-september-program-meeting/feed 0